Faculty Council

The Faculty Council approves internal acts of the Faculty; adopts the academic curricula and syllabuses of the specialties and offers them for approval by the Academic Council; adopts training programs on the subjects taught; accepts the specialties and offers assignment of PhD students; determines the conditions for transferring students from and to other specialties and forms of study, for concurrent training in more than one specialty and for individual curriculum training; annually discusses the state of the academic work and adopts measures for its improvement; discusses fundamental issues of scientific and applied science activities at the faculty; accepts attestations of professors, associate professors and assistants and assesses the work of PhD students and offers to the Rector decisions for an employment relationship in cases of two consecutive attestations where the assessment is unsatisfactory; is regularly provided with information about the budget of the faculty and expresses an opinion on its implementation; organizes collaboration with other faculties and scientific organizations.

The Faculty Council consists of 25 to 35 members and includes representatives of the academic staff with labour agreements, students and PhD students. Not less than 3/4 of the members of the Faculty are supposed to attain academic ranks.

The members of the Faculty Council are elected by the General Assembly. The Dean is a member of the Faculty Council by default and is its chairman.

The Faculty Council meets regularly once a month except in July and August. It is summoned by the Dean. The Dean may convene the Faculty Council to an extraordinary meeting: (1) at his/her discretion; (2) at the request of not less than one-quarter of the members of the Council.

Academic staff having attained academic ranks

  1. Prof. Maya Stoyanova, PhD
  2. Prof. Geno Nikolov, Dr. Habil
  3. Prof. Maroussia Bojkova, DsC
  4. Prof. Mihail Krystanov, Dr. Habil
  5. Prof. Mladen Savov, DSc
  6. Prof. Nadejda Ribarska, DSc
  7. Prof. Nadia Zlateva, DSc
  8. Prof. Stefan Ivanov, DSc
  9. Prof. Azniv Kasparian, PhD
  10. Prof. Eliza Stefanova, PhD
  11. Prof. Kalinka Kaloyanova, PhD
  12. Prof. Maria Nisheva, PhD
  13. Prof. Milen Petrov, PhD
  14. Assoc. Prof. Ivan Minchev, DsC
  15. Assoc. Prof. Aleksandar Dimov, PhD
  16. Assoc. Prof. Assen Bojilov, PhD
  17. Assoc. Prof. Atanas Semerdzhiev, PhD
  18. Assoc. Prof. Evgenia Velikova, PhD
  19. Assist. Prof. Kalin Nikolov, PhD
  20. Assoc. Prof. Petar Armyanov
  21. Assoc. Prof. Parvan Parvanov, PhD 
  22. Assoc. Prof. Philip Petrov, PhD
  23. Assoc. Prof. Radoslava Goranova, PhD
  24. Assoc. Prof. Triffon Triffonov, PhD
  25. Assoc. Prof. Tsvetan Hristov, PhD
  26. Assoc. Prof. Vessela Stoimenova, PhD
  27. Assoc. Prof. Vesselin Gushev, PhD

Academic staff not having attained academic ranks

  1. Chief Assist. Emil Kamenov, PhD
  2. Chief Assist. Konstantin Tabakov, PhD
  3. Chief Assist. Stoyan Apostolov, PhD
  4. Chief Assist. Yana Aleksieva-Ninova , PhD


  1. Elizabeth Koleva, student
  2. Kristian Ivanov, student
  3. Plamena Ilieva student
  4. Violeta Sekulova, student